Freedom from fear and distress

All pigs deserve to be happy and feel safe. Caring for your pig and learning to understand their needs will help you identify what you need to do to prevent your pig feeling worried, upset, frightened or distressed. By doing these things, you will be providing your pig Freedom from fear and distress.

Freedom from fear and distress - Pig

Did you know that there is a special law protecting animals?

This law is called the Animal Welfare Act. The Animal Welfare Act says that your animal has five groups of welfare needs. These are five groups of things that animals need to be healthy and happy. These five welfare needs are called the Five Freedoms.

Under the Animal Welfare Act, all animal guardians (owners) need to provide these five groups of things for their animals. One of these Five Freedoms is: Freedom from Fear and Distress. In this section you will learn about this freedom and how you can make sure your pigs receive the love, understanding and companionship they need to be free from fear and distress.


Watch the video


Do you have what it takes?